Date of closure: October 2006
Address (for reference only):
We do know that Lyceum Bingo closed down in 2006, having previously been owned by Gala Bingo, and prior to that were under ownership of County Bingo for many years.
The bingo hall was situated in the old Lyceum Cinema, and with an original capacity of 2,600, it was known as a super cinema. Designed by Charles J. McNair, and noted cinema architect Henry F. Elder, it opened in 1938, it must have been a stunning venue in its heyday. At time of writing, the premises are on the Buildings At Risk Register, which is a shame, as most of the original features remain intact. The good news is that to our knowledge, while the building is currently unused, at least it hasn’t been converted into flats, or a nightclub. There is still hope.
By Gareth Whieldon (July 2010)